Georges Laraque taking heat over Octane

 

Georges Laraque Octane

According to recent stories on CBC Sports as well as other newspapers in the MSM, it sounds like big Georges Laraque has incensed various feminist groups following his appearance in a commercial for Octane 7.0, an energy drink that contains 80mg of caffeine with 7% alcohol.  The ad in question features Georges playing street hockey with scantily clad women.


Big Georges is known for many things both on and off the ice.  Though he’s still one of the most feared fighters in the game as a gentleman-enforcer, he’s also garnered recent attention for both his charity work as well as support of animal rights, in particular.  He’s recently joined PETA and became a vegan.  Prior to this recent ad campaign, misogynist was not among the many labels that one would attribute to Georges.

George has recently apologized for his involvement in the ad:

I’m sorry it has shocked everyone — that was not my intention,” he said. “I did it to raise funds for charities; currently, a refuge for animals. Everything I do outside of hockey, I donate to the foundations that I support.”

“It was not my idea. I didn’t know what I was going to do. I arrived, I did what they told me to do, and I did it to raise funds.”

Though Laraque has apparently violated the NHL CBA by endorsing a product that contains alcohol, it sounds like he might get a free-pass given his otherwise good image and the fact that proceeds were all previously donated to charity.

Here’s the commercial for Octane 7.0:

Share

2 thoughts on “Georges Laraque taking heat over Octane

Leave a Reply

